In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 655
On this Board 32Record: 472 (9/14/2012)
Online now 653Record: 7245 (2/26/2012)
You have no favorite boards.
My college ref trend reviewed it and went through the reasons with me. Essentially, Lyons lost the ball after Adams touched it and then gathered it again. Once the ball hits the floor and he picks it up again, it's a travel.
He is an ardent Wildcat fan but says that fans don't know the rules well enough. His ref buddies, one of whom calls PAC 12 games agree.
Don't kill the messenger.
"Arizona has no tradition" - Bill Walsh
"We have a tradition of kicking Bill Walsh's ass" - Teddy Bruschi
i dont have a photographic memory, but did the ball hit the floor? does that even matter?
Time to get over it, don't ya think?
Time to nut up or shut up
I would love to meet your friend and explain the real rules to him so he no longer makes this mistake. Don't blame me, I just played basketball and still currently play. If another player touches the ball and knockes it out of another players hand, it can only be one of 2 things at the end.
1. a live ball. meaning open game to whoever gets it first unless it goes out of bounds, then it's to standard out of bounds possession rules.
2. a jump ball. this would only occur if the ball is semingly held for a brief moment by 2 players from opposing teams
Not killing the messanger, but your friend doesn't know the rules of the game. ie. your friend is probably named Michael Irving
Not only that, Wear grabbed Lyons arm first, making it a foul and Lyons was on his way up, making it a shooting foul. Wear only touched the ball as a result of Lyons losing control due to the arm grab. Wear touching the ball after it's out of Lyons hands without the foul called makes this an open ball.
Had Wear not fouled Lyons or touched the ball, then this would have been a double dribble.
This post has been edited 2 times, most recently by uofasteve on 3/21/2013 at 2:09 PM
Agreed Steve... by knocking the ball lose on the way up is not double dribble ...
Exactly uofasteve. Now we know why officiating is so frigging bad. I too have a friend that officiates Division II basketball and he says it was the wrong call. Of course, the call is the call. What was truly awful was the technical foul being assessed for asking the two officials to discuss and make sure they got the "travel" call correct.
National Basketball Recruiting Analyst
Football Writers Association of America
U.S. Basketball Writers Association
There was NO travel call. It was whistled for double dribble. It cannot be double dribble as the defender tipped the ball out of Lyons control before he gathered and dribbled again when Wear fouled him.
Bear Down Arizona! Wildcat Sports Report, CFO AZ's Certified Tax Coach at Wildcat Tax & Accountingwww.WildcatTax.com
BP is correcto-mundo... The ball was jarred loose by Adams on the way up and Lyons regained possession and came down with the ball... When he attempted to dribble again he was called for "Double Dribble"...
That is why Miller wanted them to ask another ref for help to see that the ball had been touched and jarred loose by UCLA to over turn the call...
WK's buddy is wrong....
I think the video was pretty clear, so I trust that he saw the right footage. He's pretty wired into the ref immunity and he said they are all saying it was the right call.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports